I have been battling my weight for years.  I have gone through the phase of losing 60 lbs just to put it all back on and some.  Why did this happen?  I figured it out this time around when I decided to attack my weight problem again.  Back in 2007 when I had lost 60 lbs, I had stopped eating “normal” food.  By normal I mean foods with fat grams and other such things in them that “diets” don’t recommend.  The problem came in when I stopped eating boxed diet food and all the low calorie snacks that are the new trend in society.  When I stopped eating just the “diet foods” I had been on, my weight came back and it came back fast.

I decided to take a different approach to it this time around.  I decided that I’m not going to deprive myself of “normal” foods, but rather cut down my portions and make smarter choices when it comes to fast food if I have to get some as a last resort on the way to or from work.  I started this crusade and this new “diet plan” back in the middle of March.  I have added exercise in with eating smaller portions of normal food.  I have been on this plan for 12 weeks now and have lost a total of 13 lbs.  No gimmicks, no frozen boxed food diet, nothing.  I got to thinking about why this is working much better than the crash diet I was on before.  I had lost more weight in this time frame with the last diet, but I wasn’t doing it in a healthy way and I was shocking my body with the food deprivation.  My body was in shock again when I stopped eating all of those things and ate other foods.

My theory on this is plain and simple.  By keeping “normal” food in my body while exercising and drinking a lot more water (I cut out a lot of the soda consumption that I was taking in on the regular basis) I have managed to drop weight at a rate of about 2 lbs/week.  That’s quite a bit of weight to lose a week.  Also, when I reach my goal weight and continue to eat foods that aren’t necessarily diet foods, my body will not go into shock and retain the fat that I had deprived it of during the diet.  Hard core crash diets basically deprive your body of the essential fats it needs to burn calories.  Your body basically goes into starvation mode and hoards fat once you start replenishing your body with it.  Does that make sense to you?  It does to me, so I’m sticking with my theory for my own purposes.

Needless to say, crash dieting and cutting out all the “normal” foods isn’t good for you or your body.  Junk food isn’t good for you either, but if you proportion things right and don’t overeat you can still lose weight in a healthy manner without starving yourself.