I couldn’t have asked for a better weekend if I had wanted to.  I apologize for my absence, but my weekend was so jam packed it isn’t even funny.  A lot of things happened, a lot of good things that I am so grateful for and I am just busting at the seams to tell you all about it.

Friday started off wonderfully with my day off.  Working full time is great, but I really do appreciate my time off when I do get it.  Friday was my mother’s birthday and I celebrated with her and my grandma during the day.  Before we celebrated, though, I surprised my mother with a dozen yellow roses and a small cake from the store.  She absolutely loved my gift, though I wish I would have been able to afford to get her more.  It’s the thought and love that counts, right?  Right.  Later in the early afternoon we went out to lunch with my grandma.  We had a nice lunch out and got to spend some quality time together.  Just the three of us.  It’s been a long while since the three generations of women in our family have been able to have quality alone time.  It’s hard to come by these days with busy schedules and life in general.  Later that evening we had a nice dinner at home, my best friend came over to celebrate, and we had a nice time.

I was so happy to get my best friend back.  You really have no idea how much I love this woman in a completely non-romantic fashion.  Let me give you some back story on us.  She and I met in high school back in 2002 when I began my freshman year.  We had a small group of girls that we hung out with, but she and I had a mutual friend.  This girl’s name, for purposes of story telling, is shortened to S because, well, she has not consented to be mentioned by name on this blog.  S told many lies to my best friend, H, and myself.  H and I loathed each other through freshman year and a little bit in the beginning of sophomore year.  At that time I had a best friend, K, who turned out to be someone I couldn’t trust and who would hurt me in the end.  H approached me and asked me if I had been saying the things that S had told her.  I told H no, that I hadn’t, and the same thing happened with me.  S had been lying to each of us to keep us from being friends.  We decided to put the past behind us and get to know each other.  Let me tell you, it has been an amazing seven years.

She and I began to hang around with K and we were a triad, though H often felt like a third wheel.  K and I had been best friends since Keyboarding class the first semester of freshman year.  The three of us were in Key Club, H and I did the music thing together, and the three of us were a dynamic triad.  Until Senior year when everything changed.  Hurricane Katrina really brought to light how strong friendships were and just how weak others were at the same time.  K and I ended up evacuating within a mile of each other and that wasn’t planned.  H was farther away.  We also hung out with other girls and we were terrified we would never see each other again or graduate with them.  I was more worried about H, though, and I missed her like crazy.  K and I ended up going to the same school in the town we evacuated to and managed to still hang out.  We all moved back in October of that year and by January, K hated me for no apparent reason.  H and I still hung out and we started to do everything together.  We sang duets, we spent copious amounts of time together at lunch, and we realized how strong our friendship was.  I didn’t need K and K was only bringing me down.  H was just an amazing person and my GOD she still is.

My friendship with H has continued to blossom from sophomore year when we put aside the animosity and got to know each other.  She has become so much more than a friend to me.  She is my sister and I am so blessed to have her.  We drifted apart as bit when I moved to school in 2006, but she stayed there and waited for me to come around.  It was my fault, completely.  I honestly don’t know what I would do without her.  She is absolutely my rock.  I have been able to open up to her about what I do and share with her the people I know, the experiences I have had, and the life I continue to live and she is there for me one hundred percent of the way even if she doesn’t agree with what I do.  She has always accepted me for who I am and we have been through some insane times together.  I never thought that I would have a best friend like her in my life.  She is a part of my family and she is definitely someone I never want to imagine living without.

So, now that I’ve given you a mushy back story, H had surgery about two weeks ago to fix some of her sinus problems.  She was always getting sick and I like when she’s healthy.  She came over for cake and to tell my mom happy birthday before we went to see a movie and get ice cream.  We got to catch up and she told me about someone she’s been talking to.  I’m so happy for her and that she opens up to me about these things.  We had a lovely time out and we’re planning a trip together at the end of the year.  I’m so glad to have my best friend back.  I missed her while she was down with the surgery recovery.

So, Saturday rolled in and I ended up working most of the day.  I need to stop being so nice to the other girl who works with me, but I need the money so I don’t mind.  Saturdays are really slow anyway and I don’t do much to begin with.  After I got off of work, I went home to get ready to go out with my mom and family for her birthday.  I was also very excited because D, the guy I’d been talking to, was going to be going with us and meeting my rather crazy family for the first time.  He came and picked me up and we went to dinner before the show and ended up meeting with my friend A and her boyfriend.  We had dinner together and went to the comedy show.  We laughed our asses off and he got a chance to meet the people I love dearly.  I danced a little with my mom and aunts before we headed out to go spend time with A and her boyfriend over at her cousin’s house.  We drank with them for a while and watched A get rather intoxicated before ending up at IHOP at 2 in the morning.

I am so surprised we didn’t get kicked out of there or banned from ever going again.  A was completely hammered and it was hilarious.  D took video and showed me last night.  It was absolutely hilarious the things she said and did.  We held hands in the restaurant so she wouldn’t fall over and she shouted that the people probably thought we were lesbians.  That was just a little bit of the insanity that ensued, but it was a fun time nonetheless and she really liked meeting D.  That made me very happy as I have not had luck in the past with my friends really liking the man I chose to date.

Yesterday was fantastic.  We spent Father’s Day in the pool at my house and D ended up coming over to celebrate with us.  How he hasn’t run screaming for the hills yet I will never know.  We swam for a while and entertained my little brother (he’s very little with the 17 year difference between us) and relaxed after a while just floating around.  It was at that point D and I talked and both agreed that we’re a bit beyond the point of just casual dating.  I was ecstatic to hear that he felt the same way, so we officiated that we are “in a relationship” yesterday afternoon.  My brother really took to him as well and it was amazing to see.  D loved entertaining him in the pool as well, it seemed.  They say that kids have a good instinct and can tell when people are good, bad, etc.  Needless to say I’m still on cloud nine.

Yesterday also made me stop and think about my sperm donor and it hurt that I wanted to call and wish him a happy father’s day.  He isn’t a father to me at all.  I fought the urge and instead called my step dad.  He and I don’t really see eye to eye or get along a lot of the time, but he adopted me from the moment he started dating my mother over ten years ago.  He went to father/daughter dances with me and was there for all the monumental points of my high school life.  He held me and told me it was okay when my grandpa died.  He’s been there, regardless of how much we don’t see eye to eye.  I told him all of this and it almost made him cry.  He is my dad and even though I don’t have his genes, I love him regardless.

I’ve begun a new chapter in my life and celebrated many chapters that have already been in writing for years.  This weekend was absolutely amazing and God has definitely blessed me and my life.